Tuesday, February 17, 2015

COURTENAY – Four new Island mayors will be joining the 13 member Board of Directors of the Island Coastal Economic Trust, filling vacancies created by the November municipal elections.

The Island Coastal Economic Trust is seen as a successful economic development model largely because of its collaborative structure including more than 40 locally elected officials. This community-centred decision making process enables the region to set its own investment priorities.

Mayor Aaron Stone of Ladysmith and Mayor Bill McKay of Nanaimo were newly elected to ICET’s Board of Directors by the Central South Island Regional Advisory Committee (CSIRAC). Mayor Jon Lefebure was also elected as Chair of the CSIRAC, and will sit on the Board ex-officio.

The North Island Sunshine Coast Regional Advisory Committee (NISCRAC) saw Mayor Andy Adams of Campbell River and Mayor Michael Berry of Alert Bay chosen to help direct the investments and strategic direction of ICET. Mayor John MacDonald of Sayward was elected as Vice-Chair of the Committee.

“ICET’s success in helping communities leverage funding and create economic infrastructure that creates jobs is rooted in our local decision-making structure,” said Board Chair Mayor Phil Kent of Duncan. “As a group, we bring our communities’ perspectives forward, and make investments in projects that we all agree will benefit the region.”

Both Regional Advisory Committees elect four Board members for two year terms and the Province appoints five members for 3 year terms. Continuing locally elected Board members include Mayor Phil Kent of Duncan, Joe Stanhope, Chair of the Nanaimo Regional District, Mayor Josie Osborne of Tofino and Mayor Paul Ives of Comox. Mayor Teunis Westbroek of Qualicum Beach continues as Chair of the NISCRAC. Provincially appointed members include Camela Tang, Dallas Smith, Dave Mannix, Arlette Raaen and Kevin Tevington.

The NISCRAC held elections on February 6th, and the CSIRAC on February 13th. The appointments are effective until July of 2016.

About the Island Coastal Economic Trust

The Island Coastal Economic Trust is a $50 million endowment established in 2006 by the Government of British Columbia to help diversify the economies of central and northern Vancouver Island and the Sunshine Coast.

ICET is guided by a Board of Directors and two Regional Advisory Committees which include more than 50 locally elected officials and MLAs and five appointees. This exceptional team of leaders collaborates to set regional priorities and build vital multi-regional networks.

Through a community-centred decision-making process, ICET has approved $48 million for over 125 economic infrastructure and economic development readiness projects on the Island and Sunshine Coast since implementing its grant program in 2007. ICET investments have leveraged more than $270 million in incremental funding into the region.

A full overview of ICET can be found at www.islandcoastaltrust.ca


For further information:

Line Robert, CEO
Island Coastal Economic Trust
Tel. 250-871-7797, ext. 227

Mayor Phil Kent, ICET Chair
City of Duncan 
Tel. 250-709-0186

ICET By The Numbers

person years employment created (construction phase)

ICET By The Numbers

locally elected officials and MLAs working together

ICET By The Numbers

million annual provincial government revenue generated

ICET By The Numbers

post completion jobs created

ICET By The Numbers

dollars leveraged for every ICET dollar invested

ICET By The Numbers

million leveraged into the region

ICET By The Numbers

million disbursed

ICET By The Numbers

million committed

ICET By The Numbers

economic development projects

ICET By The Numbers

projects completed

ICET By The Numbers

projects in small (less than 5,000) communities

ICET By The Numbers

communities with ICET projects

2020-2022 Strategic Plan

Stay informed with our latest news!

* indicates required