Biennial election sees new formation within Trust’s independent governance structure

COURTENAY, 3 December 2020 – The Island Coastal Economic Trust (ICET) recently welcomed four new members to its Board of Directors and elected its new Executive Committee, as it bid farewell to long-standing members.

The change comes on the heels of the Trust’s biennial elections, as defined by the North Island Coast Development Initiative Trust Act. Earlier this year, Mayor Leslie Baird of Cumberland stepped down as Board member and Executive Secretary. Prior to the BC Provincial elections, former Mayor of Tofino Josie Osborne stepped down as Board Chair. She will continue to serve on the Regional Advisory Committee (RAC) as the newly elected MLA for Mid-Island Pacific Rim (Minister of Municipal Affairs).

The new incoming Board members, elected from the North Island Sunshine Coast RAC include Darnelda Siegers, Mayor of Sechelt and Jesse Ketler, Chair of the Comox Valley Regional District.  The Board also welcomed two new RAC Chairs – Bob Wells, Mayor of Courtenay (North Island Sunshine Coast RAC) and Mark Swain, Mayor of Lantzville (Central South Island RAC) who serve as advisory (ex-officio) members.

“We’d like to extend our sincerest thanks to both Mayor Leslie Baird and the Honourable Josie Osborne for their leadership and commitment to our Board over the years,” says ICET’s newly elected Board Chair Aaron Stone. “We’re also really pleased to welcome our newest members.  The diversity of perspectives, progressive vision and community connection our members bring to the table is without a doubt one of our greatest  strengths.”

The Trust is independently governed by an arms’ length decision making model, which includes more than 50 locally elected officials, MLAs and appointees from the Island and Coastal region. The Board of Directors elects eight of its number from the two RACs, and the Province of BC appoints five members. The Central South Island and North Island Sunshine Coast RACs play a vital role in the organization, by providing the Board with valuable information about local needs, regional priorities and economic environment.

“We feel incredibly fortunate that our Board continues to build upon and reflect our regional diversity and unique needs,” says ICET CEO Line Robert. “This model of grassroots level participation ensures that no community is left unheard.”

The new members join current Board and newly elected Executive Committee members: Aaron Stone, Mayor of Ladysmith (Chair); Ian Morrison, Cowichan Valley Regional District Representative (Vice-Chair); Andy Adams, Mayor of Campbell River (Treasurer); Dana Thorne, Provincial Appointee (Secretary); Roger Kishi, Provincial Appointee (Member at large); John Jack, Chair Alberni Clayoquot Regional District; Michelle Staples, Mayor of Duncan; Al Siebring, Mayor of the District of North Cowichan; Megan Hanacek, Provincial Appointee; and Barry O’Neill, Provincial Appointee.

A full list of Board and RAC members can be found here.


About the Island Coastal Economic Trust
Created and capitalized by the Province of BC in 2006, the Island Coastal Economic Trust (ICET) mission is to create a more diverse and globally competitive Island and Coastal economy. In partnership with local and regional government, non-profits and indigenous communities, ICET serves nearly half a million residents. Funding and support for economic infrastructure and other economic diversification initiatives is delivered through a unique, community centered, decision-making process. Since inception, ICET has approved more than $53.8 million in funding for over 230 initiatives. These investments have leveraged over $270 million in new investment into the region creating more than 2550 construction phase jobs and 2700 long term permanent jobs.

For further information:
Amanda Fortier, Communications Officer
Island Coastal Economic Trust
Tel. 250-871-7797 (Ext. 232)

Download Document