COURTENAY – With six new locally elected officials and three new provincial appointees, 2018 will go down in history as a year of change for the Island Coastal Economic Trust (ICET).

Oversight for the Island Coastal Economic Trust is provided by a Board of Directors that includes local elected officials as well as provincial appointees. Two Regional Advisory Committees comprised of all of the region’s Mayors, Regional District Chairs and MLAs elect eight of their members to serve on the Board of Directors.

“The elections and provincial appointments mean a significant amount of renewal and rejuvenation of the leadership at ICET, and while we will miss the contributions of our colleagues that have left the Board, I’m excited to get to work with this new group of community-minded individuals,” said Board Chair Josie Osborne, Mayor of Tofino. “I want to thank all the outgoing members for their service and dedication to growing and diversifying our regional economy.”

Five provincial Board appointments expired in August.  Dave Mannix of the Snuneymuxw First Nation was re-appointed to the Board by the Lieutenant Governor in Council for a three year term.  New three year term appointments include Megan Hanacek of Port McNeill, Dana Thorne of Cowichan Tribes and Barry O’Neill of Lantzville.

These new appointees join returning Board members Josie Osborne, Mayor of Tofino (Chair), Aaron Stone, Mayor of Ladysmith (Vice-Chair), Andy Adams Mayor of Campbell River (Treasurer) and John Jack, Huu-ay-aht Council and Chair, Alberni Clayoquot Regional District.

Following the local government elections in October, several new members were elected from both Regional Advisory Committees to fill vacancies on the Board.

The Central South Island Regional Advisory Committee (CSIRAC) elected Ian Morrison, Chair of Cowichan Valley Regional District, Michelle Staples, Mayor of Duncan and Al Siebring, Mayor of North Cowichan.  Rod Peters, Mayor of Lake Cowichan was elected Chair of the CSIRAC, and also sits as an ex-officio member of the Board.

The North Island Sunshine Coast Regional Advisory Committee (NISCRAC) elected Leslie Baird, Mayor of Cumberland to the Board. Mayor John MacDonald of Sayward was elected Chair of the NISCRAC, and joins Peters as an ex-officio member of the Board.

Mayor Leslie Baird and Dana Thorne will also join Mayors Osborne, Stone and Adams on the Board Executive Committee.

A full list of Board and RAC members can be found on

About the Island Coastal Economic Trust
Created and capitalized by the Province of BC, the Island Coastal Economic Trust (ICET) has been at the forefront of economic diversification, planning and regional revitalization for the past twelve years.

ICET is independently governed by a Board of Directors and two Regional Advisory Committees which include more than 50 locally elected officials, MLAs and appointees from the Island and Coast. This exceptional team of leaders collaborate to set regional priorities and build vital multi-regional networks.

Through a community centered decision-making process, ICET has approved more than $50 million in funding for over 190 economic infrastructure and economic development readiness projects.  These investments have leveraged over $270 million in new investment into the region creating more than 2500 construction phase jobs and 2600 long term permanent jobs.

A full overview of ICET can be found at


For further information:

Line Robert, CEO
Island Coastal Economic Trust
Tel. 250-871-7797 (Ext. 227)

Mayor Josie Osborne, ICET Chair
District of Tofino
Tel. 250-725-3229